Social Communication…

This past four day weekend I spent a lot of my downtime researching tons of various social media sites. I even learned a few new tricks on old sites. I really wanted to fully immerse myself into the world of Social Networking just like the masses out there using these networks daily. My problem is that I see everything from a Marketing point of view, so I had to shed that and jump in head first as a Regular guy.

I started a few new accounts with various networks such as Ustream and Tumblr. I jumped in on chat rooms, listened to internet radio, twitted, blogged, added friends and even started a group. Funny enough though, i didn’t take one look at Myspace (go figure). I had a great time.

There was a moment where I was truly integrated into a virtual community – Saturday night, listening to BeatMinerz radio and chatting with old skool hip hoppers about current tracks, old tracks, artists, music, etc all while listening to the mixing of Evil D in NY at 4am (their time).

I then finished things up with a nice long chat about social media’s place in our current society with the wonderful interns at our office on Monday morning.

So what have I taken with me?
Humans have a need for personal interaction, whether physical, emotional, for camaraderie, etc even if it is via AIM or Skype. People have a voice and they want to be heard, even if they are speaking through 140 characters on Twitter. What social networks allow humans is an extra form of communication, one that has never existed in mankind before. We’re at the cusp.

How does this apply to marketing? Everyone is their own media outlet, your brand included. Social Media is more than a new language, rather a new form communication. A form that you need to learn to use immediately.

See you on facebook

TM~

Leave a Reply

