Demand…

Have we overlooked Demand? It seems that the action sports industry is ripe with Supply. I mean I can buy a skateboard at 7-11 now. I can go almost anywhere and buy a pair of boardshorts and everything resembles a skate shoe. There was a time when there were no skate shoes, there were just shoes or a time when skateboards were called 2×4’s. I believe those times were when demand was peaking for performance products.

This is why I feel pushing to create innovative product is very important, not just for the individual businesses but for the industry as a whole. For example, raise your hand if you can tell me were to buy a blank t-shirt. Exactly… (I assume everyone raised their hands). Now tell me where I can buy a tee woven in Bamboo, made with ethic labor laws and non-harmful to the environment. See my point? That is where we can start to build demand again – from a place of filling a need.

When thinking about whether or not there is a demand for your products, ask yourself this question- Can someone buy the same product somewhere else for a comparable price or cheaper? If the answer is yes, then you better know where the demand for your goods is coming from.

TM~

Leave a Reply

